Representing the first place winners and special award categories in AGC of California’s 2016 Safety Awards of Excellence competition are, seated, l-r: Brian Donecker, Underground Construction Co., Inc.; Jim Blois, Blois Construction, Inc.; Safety Professional of the Year Cole Davis, Nova Group Inc.; Clinton Myers, Myers & Sons Construction, LP; Jonathan Brad Taylor, Flatiron West, Inc. (High Hazard project award); and back row, l-r: Paul Harlow, Syblon Reid (Superintendent of the Year); Rich Howell, Swinerton Builders; Matt Marcotte, Unger Construction Co.; John Sloan, Lyles Mechanical Co.; Gade Mobley, Flatiron West, Inc.; Scott Victor, Nova Group, Inc.; Paul Cocotis, Shimmick Construction Co., Inc.; and Ike Riser, Shimmick Construction Co., Inc.

Honoring Safety Excellence AGC Awards Companies, Individuals in 2016 Safety

Awards of Excellence Competition By Carol Eaton

their commitment to safety, handing out a variety of awards during the 29th Annual Safety Awards of Excellence luncheon in Monterey on October 21, 2016. Approximately 130 company executives, safety professionals and AGC members gathered for the prestigious awards presentations held in conjunction with AGC’s Annual Conference. Te program recognizes contractors

A 16 January/February 2017

GC of California honored California construction companies and individuals for

and associated companies for their commitment to safe work practices through management commitment and employee involvement. Philip Niemer, director of opera-

tional continuity and emergency management for Children’s Hospital, Colorado, served as keynote speaker for the AGC Safety Awards of Excellence luncheon. His address encouraged contractors to take a strategic approach to safety management, to think outside the box when it comes to building a safety program and to provide top-down leadership to improve safety within a company.

Additional speakers and/or awards

presenters included AGC of California President Jaimie Angus, Griffith Company, and 2016 Co-Vice Chairs of the Safety & Health Council and Master of Ceremonies, Jennifer Garcia, Reyes Construction, Inc., and Rich Howell, Swinerton Builders.

2016 AGC Safety Award Winners Several individuals and companies

received special category Safety Awards of Excellence this year, including the following:

California Constructor

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28